Thursday night movie – 02.01.2014 Kill Your Darlings

Daniel Radcliffe unfortunately will forever be tied to Harry Potter and this is saddens me because he is actually a fairly slid actor. Now I haven’t seen him in much post-potter but what I have seen him in I have enjoyed his performance.
Kill Your Darlings is no different.

MV5BMjA4MzAxMTE1N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMDY2OTIxMDE@._V1_SX640_SY720_

The story is based on the true events surrounding the murder of David Kammerer by Lucien Carr. The plot itself centers on a young Allen Ginsberg fresh from his troubled home and new to university life. He struggles to follow the rules of the what he is being taught and when Lucien appears to him like an oasis in desert he can’t help but become swept into his tangled web of lies, drugs, ideology and friendship.

As described in the movie Lucien although appearing to have no notable talent himself, recognizes it and encourages it in others so becomes the glue that brings together the beat movement. There are some brave performances from Radcliffe and Dehann as they deal with the plots themes of homosexuality, jealousy, love, art and drugs. The film is a compelling watch and although I was of course aware of the work of Ginsberg, Kerouac and Burrows Carr was unknown to me. It is quite a profound movies and one I am pleased I saw although I am not sure I would choose to watch it again. I left me very thankful that we are finally moving away from a world where you can still get away with murder because of the victims sexuality, I know we still have a long way to go but we should en devour to always make steps in the right directions.

A thought provoking 6/10

Leave a Reply

