Thursday night movie – 22.08.13 White House Down

Let me set the scene, a few weeks ago before I started writing this blog we were subjected to a movie called Olympus Has Fallen. Now I don’t generally enjoy these movies but this one happened to be the biggest pile of USA propaganda bullshit I have ever had the misfortune to witness. The dialogue, acting, story and everything else about it seemed completely implausible and cheesy. I really was a dreadful movie and should be avoided at all costs.

So you can imagine my disappointment when the opening title sequence for this ran. I had heard there were two very similar movies in the running this summer and I was so opposed to siting though another of these drivelfests we almost broke our rule about leaving. Then something wonderful happened Maggie Gyllenhaal appeared on the screen. Oh, I quite like her I thought perhaps this deserves a chance then within the first 10 minutes I was introduced to a great cast with many of my personal favourites (Richard Jenkins) except for Channing Tatum, I don’t know what people see in him he looks like a melted wellie.

The premiss and set up are exactly the same as the other movie, decent hard nut bloke ends up in the wrong place at the wrong time (or right place at the right time depending on how you look at it) and ends up saving the President from terrorists that invade the White House. It’s down to our hero to save the day and you know the drill, see any action movie in the last 30 or so years for reference. What I was not expecting was for this movie to be fun, witty, dramatic and engaging. It doesn’t take itself to seriously often referencing the ridiculousness of the situation and the characters seem decidedly more human than its counterpart. The limo scene is genuinely funny as is the quirky tour guide character, yes it does end with the cheese and schmaltz you would expect but to have it end any other way would be too bleak and depressing, I guess it is not popular when you don’t and the story with “….and they all lived happily ever after”

I guess what I am trying to say in a round about way is that I was all set to hate this and I am not ashamed to say I more than enjoyed it. This could be for a couple of reasons it’s a decent action packed, popcorn munching blockbuster or the bar was set so low by Olympus that it actually couldn’t fail to be better. Either way I came away feeling thoroughly entertained and that’s the point, right?

A flag waving 7.5/10

Unknown

Leave a Reply

