Tattoo culture in Berlin

IMG_0706

One of the things I love about Berlin is the freedom to express yourself. Nobody here seems to care what you look like and there seems to be no right or wrong way to look, I seriously think sometimes I could go out in my PJ’s and nobody would bat an eyelid. The one thing that seems to be very prevalent here in the capital is the tattoo culture. I have 5 small tattoos and in my last job the caused me nothing but problems, they are very small and unobtrusive but two of them (a small flower on the inside of each wrist) were visible unless  wore a long sleeve top and my job had a no tattoo policy.

Now don’t get me wrong it was my decision to have them but I was frustrated by some businesses stuffy attitude body art. I can see how it might be off-putting and intimidating for some people if someone had obscenities tattooed on their face or perhaps indecent images on their body but then I wouldn’t expect those people to want a job serving that type of that don’t like tattoos.

Things here in Berlin however seem a little different, I see people in all kinds of employment with varying degrees of ink and it doesn’t seem to matter. I love that here having an entire sleeve, ear tunnels or pink hair doesn’t make instantly unemployable and it barely even narrows your job opportunities. Office attire especially in East Berlin is very relaxed with many understandably wearing shorts and flip-flops in the sweltering summer months. So the next time you see a girl in cut off jeans with tattoos, brightly coloured hair and a decent amount of piercings on the U-Bahn keep in mind that she is probably on her way to work at a fortune 500 company.

Leave a Reply

